Color Therapy Lamp- Midterm Prototypes

 

This is my first prototype for my midterm. My deskbound “companion” toy is a lamp, designed to help relieve stress through color and respirotherapy. In an interaction, one would follow the light of the lamp as it increased and decreased in brightness as a breathing guide to follow. While looking at the lamp’s brightness, the color of the lamp’s light would follow certain color therapy patterns that would help further relieve stress. I changed my design from this first prototype due to its shape being a little too simple and not aesthetically pleasing enough. I also realized there would not be enough space to insert the arduino.

4D620F03-A6AD-459A-A780-CE9A7EF4EFF0.JPG

I build this by laser cutting plywood outlines of it, then glued it all together. Unfortunately it was not structurally sound, which brought me to doing my final iteration, which I presented.

Leave a Reply

